Creating soundtrack

The other week I started to consider making a soundtrack to go into my game, and I had a fairly good idea of what I wanted it to be like. I wanted it to have an upbeat – high beats per minute pace to go along with the gameplay. One great example of this is from Superhexagon, which has an incredible soundtrack to go along with the franticly fast gameplay. I also love the way the environment pulses with the music which really enhances the beats and energy of the game. You can see a clip of the game here.

I looked at a couple of synths plug ins for Garage band, which would allow me to create the electronic sci-fi sounds I wanted. After doing some research Techradar had an article recommending this free analogue synthesizer called Podolski.

Here are a couple of screenshots from development in Garage Band –

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 22.17.44.pngScreen Shot 2017-02-13 at 21.54.09.pngScreen Shot 2017-02-05 at 15.28.20.pngI tried importing into Unreal to find that it only accepts Wav files, so after converting the file I re imported and created a blueprint allowing me to loop the file.

adding-soundI also used Unreals explosion sound along with there particle explosion for when the ship hits a collision wall.

Adding sound and particle emmiter location.JPGFor the soundtrack however, whilst it is fine for the first few times you play, I believe it will become repetitive overtime pretty fast without a variation. So I am going to try and create some more, then have unreal pick a random soundtrack each time you play.

Leave a Reply

